Page 2 of 9

Qt GUI feature suggestion thread

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:06 am
by xKiv

<blockquote data-ipsquote="" class="ipsQuote" data-ipsquote-contentapp="forums" data-ipsquote-contenttype="forums" data-ipsquote-contentid="10" data-ipsquote-contentclass="forums_Topic"><div>

You could also just make the window a little bit taller and put a scrolling log (history) of messages there ... preferably with a timestamp (and I would appreciate a current time indicator too [img]<fileStore.core_Emoticons>/emoticons/smile.png[/img]/emoticons/smile@2x.png 2x" width="20" height="20" />.

 

Definitely not, GDI detracts from emulation performance as it is without further adding more gdi objects, VBA already has a logging window, we can improve upon this instead

...

</div></blockquote>
 

1) How much does GDI detract from emulation performance?

2) How does "add (an GUI element)" imply "use GDI" - especially with the SDL or QT port?

 

First approximation: stretch the emulated display surface a bit below what is rendered now + use that new "screen estate" to render log and status messages, similar to the way they are rendered over the current display.

The worst problem I see with that approach is filters ... but VBAM already has its own routines for rendering text, right? Just resize (maybe even using the filters) the glyphs when the surface resizes ...

 

Of course, if I didn't have to focus on my diploma thesis, I would have already gone and started coding ... stupid real life [img]<fileStore.core_Emoticons>/emoticons/sad.png[/img]/emoticons/sad@2x.png 2x" width="20" height="20" />

 

 

EDIT: besides, you already have your titlebar and menu (at least in the non-SDL ports), no?


Qt GUI feature suggestion thread

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 8:07 am
by dualscreenman

That's why he said "as it is". It would be bad performance to add more GDI objects than necessary.


Qt GUI feature suggestion thread

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:11 pm
by Squall Leonhart

EDIT: besides, you already have your titlebar and menu (at least in the non-SDL ports), no?

 

the menus will be done via QT's Opengl or D3D acceleration in the qt builds.


Qt GUI feature suggestion thread

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:19 am
by xKiv

<blockquote data-ipsquote="" class="ipsQuote" data-ipsquote-contentapp="forums" data-ipsquote-contenttype="forums" data-ipsquote-contentid="10" data-ipsquote-contentclass="forums_Topic"><div>

EDIT: besides, you already have your titlebar and menu (at least in the non-SDL ports), no?

 

the menus will be done via QT's Opengl or D3D acceleration in the qt builds.

</div></blockquote>
 

(anyway, I just noticed this is a QT thread ...)

 

Exactly. How much harder than this (menus) is one scrolling window?

 

Performance: (GUI) code executes (should execute) only when user clicks on a GUI element (a slight slowdown doesn't matter when the user is not paying attention; this case also covers moving windows about, swithching virtual desktops, etc ...), or when a message is added

VS

currently: as far as I can tell, screenMessage is rendered for every (non-skipped) frame (unless it is empty).

 

 

And I don't believe that the performance penalty (even with GDI) would be worse than playing MP3s in the background ...

(which I do AND I don't notice any slowdown AND my computer is way old)

 

No hard evidence here, though - one of those days, I need to get off my back and build QT4 itself ...


Qt GUI feature suggestion thread

Posted: Fri May 16, 2008 12:49 am
by mudlord

Okay, I started some prelim support for directories in the Qt4 GUI.

 

What we need, is a push to get emulation running under this GUI system.

 

Any help, as always, is appreciated.


Qt GUI feature suggestion thread

Posted: Fri May 16, 2008 10:04 am
by xKiv

Well, I am busy preparing for my final final final exam (the one that will decide whether I get the degree), so maybe I will get a look this Wednesday.


Qt GUI feature suggestion thread

Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 6:41 pm
by xKiv

Status assessment:

  • Final exams: passed. I has university education.
  • Free time: at least until end of May.
  • Done this day: built Qt4 ... took the whole day [img]<fileStore.core_Emoticons>/emoticons/sad.png[/img]/emoticons/sad@2x.png 2x" width="20" height="20" /> It is BIG
  • built VBA-M/Qt: it runs

 


 

Incidentally found a suspicious piece of code (gcc warned me):

[ ifndef FINAL_VERSION, ifdef BKPT_SUPPORT]

in agb/GBA.h

extern int oldregs[17];

extern int oldbuffer[10];

in Globals.cpp:

int oldregs[17];

int oldbuffer[10];

in agb/GBA.cpp, line 3434:

... , oldregs[17] );

int agb/GBA-thumb.cpp, line 3431:

Code: Select all

for (i = 0; i < 18; i++) {


        oldreg[i] = reg[/i][i]<em>.I;[/i]</em>

<em>
}
</em>

<em> </em>

<em>
Somebody know if this off-by-one (accessing oldreg[17] when it is only defined up to oldreg[16]) is intentional?
</em>


Qt GUI feature suggestion thread

Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 2:59 am
by SCHUMI4EVER

Forgive the ignorance but which OS is the QT build actually for? Linux?


Qt GUI feature suggestion thread

Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 3:26 am
by mudlord

Somebody know if this off-by-one (accessing oldreg[17] when it is only defined up to oldreg[16]) is intentional?

 

Hmm, thats actually something I didn't look into when I was adding in the new core. I will personally check that out when I can.

 

Forgive the ignorance but which OS is the QT build actually for? Linux?

 

It is built for all OSes, whether its for Linux, MacOSX or Windows.

 

 

(and yes, VBA-M supports MacOSX)


Qt GUI feature suggestion thread

Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 3:37 am
by SCHUMI4EVER

Ahh so it's meant to be a universal build?

 

What does the QT actually stand for and other than it's possible universal running ability are there any other differences to the current builds?